Welsh Conservatives in the European Parliament
Dr Kay Swinburne MEP

European Conservatives and Reformists Group

The European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR) Group was formed in July 2009 by eight political parties across the European Union and it is currently the fifth largest group in the European Parliament. We share the common goals of opposition to Euro-federalism and of fundamental reform of the European Union in order to make it more accountable, transparent and responsive to the needs of the people it serves.

Although a young group, the ECR is already an influential force in the European Parliament arguing for a flexible, open and non-federalist agenda. The ECR is now represented on all the major committees of the European Parliament, including the Conference of Presidents, as well as holding the chairmanship of the Parliament's Internal Market committee. The ECR's membership also includes two former national finance ministers, while outside the European Parliament the eight ECR constituent parties are parties of Government in three of the EU Member States: the Netherlands, Latvia and Poland, where Law and Justice is the Party of the Polish President. The ECR has already proven to be pivotal in the re-election of the President of the European Commission, José Barroso.

All of the establishing parties and MEPs firmly believe that the establishment of a non-federalist centre/centre-right group in the European parliament is fundamental for European democracy. The ECR are happy with the progress that has been made so far, however there is still more that can be achieved together in working to reform the EU in line with the peoples' priorities.

For further information on the activities of the ECR Group please click here.

For further information on the UK Conservative delegation in the European Parliament, please click here.
© Copyright Kay Swinburne 2013 | All rights reserved. | Photographs of the Parliament supplied by Adam Issacs.

Website design in Cardiff by Designer Websites Ltd